Camino for x86 Macs

You can download Camino for x86 Macs here, but stay away from plugins (they don’t work on any x86 Mozilla apps):

http://josh.trancesoftware.com/mozilla/Camino-x86.app.zip

Many thanks to Mark Mentovai for his help porting all of our apps!

About Josh

E-commerce guru
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Camino for x86 Macs

  1. Okay, I’ve noticed y’all have been making x86 builds, but when the x86 Macs start shipping, and “official” versions of Mozilla products start rolling out, are there going to be two Mac versions, one x86 and one PowerPC, or are there any plans for fat binary versions.

    Also, any word on when we can start seeing builds of a decent looking Firefox with Cocoa widgets?

  2. Josh Aas says:

    Your first question was answered within the past month on my web log. We will ship universal binaries, and you can download like normal from any Mac without worrying about what kind of chip you have.

    Second question: I don’t know when. Certainly not for FF 1.5, and probably for FF 2.0. FF 2.0 is going to be a huge for the Mac as we can finally move to using current technologies like Quartz, ATSUI (fancy text rendering), and Cocoa.

  3. Bud Landry says:

    Will the Camino fork eventually be folded back into Firefox for Macintel?

    What I like best about Firefox is the greater amount of plug-in development, which may not port anyway.

  4. Josh Aas says:

    I’m not really sure what that questions means, but Camino is not a fork and it is never going to get “folded back into Firefox.” Your question assumes things you apparently don’t know, such as the code structure of the applications (like, calling Camino a fork). That makes it hard to answer.

  5. What do you mean by “Camino fork”? Camino is not a fork of Firefox (and preceded[1] Firefox on Mac OS X[2],[3]); you could argue that Camino and Firefox are both “forks” of the Mozilla 1.x application if you wanted to stretch things.

    As Josh mentioned above, Firefox will at some point switch to the Mozilla Cocoa Widget implementation, which was pioneered by Camino.

    Er, Josh posted while I was typing :-) Oh well.

    [1] http://arstechnica.com/columns/mac/mac-20040923.ars
    [2] http://mozillazine.org/talkback.html?article=3180
    [3] http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/releases/0.6.html#issues

  6. Oh, I didn’t see the universal binary part, but I just really care about the Cocoa widgets. I like using it on Windows the extensions and stuff, but Firefox is currently a poor Mac applications, and I just hate using applications that don’t feel native, which is why I don’t use OpenOffice on my Mac either. Oh well, I guess I’ll stick to Safari for now.

  7. Mark Mentovai says:

    You’re very welcome, even if you did butcher my name again. :)

  8. Bud Landry says:

    I was referring to Camino as a fork from Mozilla, not Firefox, and yes, I may still be grossly misusing the term “fork’ and have not the faintest idea about any roadmap. Camino may indeed have come first, it just hasn’t gone as far.

    And I think I probably am not inaccurate about the things I do like best about Firefox not being as easy to port to a universal binary X86 mac version, because of the way they are being developed now; (else the Camino would be picking up on them more frequently)

  9. Bud: why would you think that Firefox will not be as easy to port to a universal binary, given that it already has been? If you mean plugins, anything that doesn’t require compiled code (and as I understand it most plugin development is in Javascript) will in all likelyhood require absolutely no porting. So what exactly will the hard part be?

    As for Camino ‘picking up on them more frequently’, what are you referring to? Camino doesn’t ‘pick up’ anything from Firefox–core code is shared live, as it is developed, and unshared code is just that, so there is no ‘picking up’.

  10. Josh Aas says:

    Fixed my butchering of Mark’s name…

Comments are closed.