New PowerBook on the Way!

I just ordered a new PowerBook to replace my aging 15-inch 667MHz/512Mb PowerBook. This is what I got:

- 15 inch screen
- 1.5GHz G4
- 1GB RAM
- 80GB 5400RPM hard drive
- ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 w/64MB VRAM
- SuperDrive
- Airport

I haven’t had much time to work on Mozilla stuff lately, but this will help me take advantage of what time I do have. Its sad that this nearly-top-of-the-line Apple setup will probably have way worse compile times for Mozilla products than top-of-the-line PC laptop offerings, but oh well. I’ve found Apple hardware to be wonderfully designed and reliable, and when I need something other than Linux (which should run fine on my PowerBook) I’d much prefer Mac OS X over Windows.

About Josh

E-commerce guru
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New PowerBook on the Way!

  1. sdkaneda says:

    One good PowerBook always deserves another!

  2. if you’d like remote acceess to a dual-g4 i have (for builds), please drop me a line.

  3. Mitch says:

    expect to not have use of your airport extreme under linux (broadcom chipset); and possibly your trackpad (new usb versus adb). the new ubuntu live cds (hoary) do not play nice with the new trackpads… :/

    other than that, i have a new 12″ and i love it :)

  4. Derek says:

    I wish I could afford a PowerBook… even a 667MHz/512Mb one…

    Instead I’m just another sap stuck on Windows

  5. Josh Aas says:

    I think fixing the trackpad drivers under Linux sounds like a fun project! Seriously. It does sounds fun :)

  6. Terence Tan says:

    If you have a few spare Macs (or Linux boxes), you can try distcc – http://distcc.samba.org/ – it will offload some of the compile tasks to those machines. Of course, this doesn’t help if you’re sitting with your Powerbook on the beach or in a restaurant or somewhere, lucky bastard :-)

    Also you can try ccache – http://ccache.samba.org/ – which will cache the compiled object files and re-use them, even if you do a clean on the entire Mozilla tree. It speeds things up considerably. But I haven’t used that to compile Mozilla (only other stuff).

  7. Tom Edwards says:

    I got my first Mac last September, a PowerBook 12″ – really an amazing computer! Loving OS X after years of Windows. However, I really had no idea you can run Linux on them! Seems kind of logical I suppose, what with it being UNIX and all.

    Hope you enjoy it!

Comments are closed.