Loving IRCCloud

I tend to use pretty basic (and preferably cross-platform) software so I can be comfortable on systems that aren’t highly configured to my specific taste. I don’t change the software I use on a daily basis very often. However, I recently switched away from the IRC client that I’d used heavily for many years, and started using IRCCloud instead. I’m so happy with it that I thought I’d write about it.

I used Colloquy, and I was pretty happy with it. It’s about as good as a native application IRC client can be. It has two major down-sides though, both of which are consequences of its being a native application.

First of all, when my computer was off or asleep, or I forgot to start the application for some reason, I was offline. I frequently missed interesting public conversations and private pings.

The second problem is that Colloquy only works on OS X, and if I’m using different machines I have to configure an IRC client on each one. I’m frequently using a couple of machines at the same time, like an Apple laptop with a bunch of OS X-specific applications open (e.g. iTunes, Word) and a Linux machine that I’m writing code on. If I want to copy/paste something to IRC from the machine that isn’t running Colloquy, I can’t unless I quit Colloquy on OS X and start some other IRC client on the other machine. Not being able to easily be on IRC with the same nick from multiple machines was annoying.

About six weeks ago I signed up for IRCCloud, based on a blog post I had read. Once you create an account, you can configure it just like any other IRC client and connect. The connection is persistent, so you’re online on IRC even when you’re not on the site. When you log on again, you can see what you missed in public rooms, as well as any private pings you might have missed. Fantastic. Because it’s a web application, it works on all platforms. You can even be logged in from multiple machines at the same time!

Switching to IRCCloud has improved my IRC experience immensely. I highly recommend it if you’re a regular IRC user.

About Josh Aas

Josh Aas is a Gecko platform software engineer with Mozilla Corporation.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Mozilla. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Loving IRCCloud

  1. If you have a personal server, take a look to ZNC, maybe it gives you more control.

  2. rodms10 says:

    If you consider running a server, I’d recommend taking a look at IRCanywhere https://github.com/ircanywhere/ircanywhere

    It’s an open source multi-user irc bouncer with a web interface similar to irccloud. With the plus that you can connect your regular irc client (like colloquy) too. I’ve been using it for months and works well enough. I use the web interface on mobile or when I don’t have my laptop.

    • +1 for Ircanywhere an open source nearly identical alternative to IRCCloud

      • felipe says:

        Is it possible to host my instance of IRCAnywhere on moz’s infra?

      • rodms10 says:

        IRCAnywhere is written in node and uses mongoDB with oploging for storage. The node server would be easy to set up. Stackato services lists mongodb, but I couldn’t find any documentation on it, not sure if oploging is supported. You might have to change code to support configuration coming from an environment variable which I believe is how stackato would send you the connect string for the db.

  3. karl says:

    I think the part that is very important about IRCCloud is that they have a *real business model*, aka paid subscriptions https://www.irccloud.com/pricing for 5$/month.
    It’s important because it is less likely to sell your personal data.

Leave a Reply

