Music I’ve Been Listening to Lately

Music is great, definitely one of my favorite things in life, and I feel like taking a break from writing a paper to make some listening suggestions.

I’ve been listening to a lot of Death Cab for Cutie. They are one of those bands that I always liked in general, but over time they consistently grow on me. Death Cab has some bad/boring/uncreative songs like any other group, but most of their stuff is really good. Its a lot like The Postal Service, but usually more interesting and lively. Not to say that they are better than The Postal Service in general, they are just better when you’re looking for something other than the soothing sound The Postal Service has. A couple favorite songs of mine are “A Movie Script Ending” and “Photobooth.”

I’ve also been listening to lots of Jay-Z, but then again I usually do. I’m not sure exactly why his stuff is so appealing to me, but it definitely has something to do with the often-refreshing perspective he has on himself and the subjects he raps about like the rap industry, identity, race, and America’s lower class. While the subjects are commonplace in rap, I feel like he’s more honest and insightful than most popular rappers and his messages seem to be less angry and confrontational – to the point of being really encouraging at times. In this regard, The Black Album is his masterpiece, and if you haven’t listened to Jay-Z much before, I recommend starting there. Some of his earlier stuff isn’t as mature (e.g. the album “Reasonable Doubt”) and didn’t appeal to me much until I got pretty into him.

And back to paper writing…

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Music I’ve Been Listening to Lately

  1. berkut says:

    So, what did you think of “Renegade”? :D

  2. Josh Aas says:

    Good song…

    “Say that I’m foolish
    I only talk about jewels
    Do you fools
    Listen to music or
    Do you just skim
    Through it?”

    Another instance of Jay-Z being right on.

  3. Leon says:

    both dcfc and tps are amazing bands. they have the same lead singer!

    one of my faves. by death cab is called “We Looked like Giants”.

Comments are closed.